NWC News Desk

NWC students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa

Posted May 2, 2007

P O W E L L, W y o. - Local student(s) were among 29 Northwest College students inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society this spring.

NWC students who completed at least 12 hours of course work with a minimum grade point average of 3.5 are invited to join Northwest's Phi Epsilon Chapter each semester. Those who were inducted this year join 1.2 million other Phi Theta Kappa members on 1,200 campuses around the world.

The Northwest College Phi Theta Kappa Chapter works to create cultural and social opportunities for students who excel academically. The international society is committed to intellectual enrichment and personal development through programs based on four hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.

In addition, Phi Theta Kappa members also have access to millions of dollars in scholarships and opportunities to join an All-State Academic Team.

Phi Theta Kappa has recognized academic excellence in two-year colleges since 1918 and is now one of the largest and most prestigious honor societies in higher education. Among the names on the alumni membership roster are businessman and 1992 presidential candidate H. Ross Perot, former United Nations ambassador Jeane Kirkpatrick, Apollo 13 astronaut Fred Haise, Grammy-winning entertainer Rudy Gatlin and Emmy-winning actress Sela Ward.

The Northwest College Phi Theta Kappa spring 2007 initiates are:


From Buffalo:
Krystal Palczewski

From Cody:
Karen Deroche
Heather Dimock
Melinda Martin
Todd Rush, Jr.
Justin Umphlett

From Greybull:
Nick DeWitt

From Lovell:
Andrea Allred
Byron Baumstarck
Denise Finning
Thales Haskell

From Meeteetse:
Haley May

From Powell:
Adam Albert
Alison Coy
Beverly Dent
Celyn Flory
Samuel Rodriguez

From Wapiti:
Jamie Schmeiser

From Worland:
Gail Dover
Summer Jackson


From Billings:
Carmel Halim

From Luther:
ReAnna Kero

From Red Lodge:
Sylvan LaCross


From Boise:
Nickalus Davis

From Meridian:
Christopher Smurthwaite


Quyen Bui - Polo, Ill.
Choong Kim - Charlotte, N.C.

Eugene Lau - Ampang Selangor MALAYSIA
An Vo - Ho Chi Minh City VIETNAM