All campus buildings are open to the public; select entrances only
Please wear a mask, try to keep 6 feet apart and do not come to campus if you are sick.
Get updates at NWC COVID-19.

NWC News Desk

NWC Board welcomes new trustee

Posted July 8, 2020
By NWC News Desk

Following their July 6 meeting, the Northwest College Board of Trustees recently welcomed new member Lawrence Todd of Meeteetse.

Trustees selected an individual to fill the unexpired term (through November 2020) of Meeteetse trustee Nada Larsen, who will be resigning effective July 15, following her move to Cody, which makes her ineligible to continue serving.

Applicants had to be residents of Park County School District 16 and be willing to attend regular and special meetings.

Todd, who has a robust history in academia, was an adjunct professor at NWC from 2008 to 2012.

He’s dedicated his academic career to studying anthropology, earning a bachelor’s from the University of Wyoming and his master’s and Ph.D. from the University of New Mexico.

Currently, he is a professor emeritus of Colorado State University, a University of Texas at Austin research fellow and a research associate for the Draper Museum of Natural History at the Buffalo Bill Center of the West in Cody.

Although retired from his full-time faculty position, his research has continued and he is currently a co-PI on an NSF research project on paleoecology of Greater Yellowstone mountains and a senior scientist on another NSF-funded (to University of Texas) Research Experience for Undergraduate project in Ethiopia.

As a longtime Meeteetse resident, he’s been active in many community and county organizations including the Park County Historic Preservation Commission, the Meeteetse Museum Board, plus several others as a part of larger projects.

Todd has also taught summer classes for Cody Science Kids and the Meeteetse Recreation District, and had led spring classes for Cody Middle School Natural History Days, worked with the BLM, Forest Service and local schools on a range of public science education events.

Other current trustees are Carolyn Danko, Dustin Spomer (president) and Mark Wurzel (vice president/secretary) of Powell; and Luke Anderson (treasurer), John Housel and Bob Newsome of Cody.

For more information about the NWC Board of Trustees, visit

NWC Board welcomes new trustee